## Municipality of Anchorage 2023 Senior Citizen, Disabled Veteran Exemption Application

AS 29.45.030 (e)-(i) Exemption up to \$150,000 of valuation

To qualify for tax exemption, property must be applicant's primary residence and permanent place of abode prior to January 1, 2023. Upon initial application, the owner must have been a resident of the State of Alaska for the entire year of 2022. In each subsequent year the property must be owned and occupied as the primary residence and permanent place of abode for at least 185 days prior to January 1, and when absent, the dwelling is not rented or leased to another.

Senior Citizen must be 65 on or before December 31, 2022. New applicants must provide proof of age.

**Disabled Veteran** must provide a **current VA letter** (dated within one year) stating at least a 50% service-connected disability.

Mail to: Municipality of Anchorage	OR	Submit in person to:	OR	Email to:
Property Appraisal		Property Appraisal		propappcs@muni.org
P.O. Box 196650		632 West 6th Avenue, Suite 300		
Anchorage, AK 99519-6650				

For more information call: (907) 343-6770

## Application must be complete and received or postmarked on or before March 15, 2023.

It is the property owner's responsibility to ensure receipt of the application by the MOA.

Property owners are required to notify the assessor of any change in ownership, property use, residency, status of disability or other factor affecting qualification for the exemption.

Real Property Number (Parcel ID Number)	Mailing Address		Property Site Address, if same as mailing write "same"	
Name of Applicant: Last Name First	st Name MI	Birth Date	Daytime Phone Number	
Primary Email Address		Secondary Email Address		
I am applying for: Senior Citiz		or Citizen Widow/Wic bled Veteran Widow/	lower (Must be 60 years of age)	
Disabled Ve	Disa		Widowei	
Dwelling Type: Single Family Condominium Duplex Mobile Home Other:				
When did you most recently establish residency in the State of Alaska?				
Were you absent from Alaska more than 185 days from December 31, 2021 to Present? Yes No				
Has your property been transferred into a trust? Yes No				
Do you apply for and receive the Alaska PFD? Yes No				
Is any portion of this property used for	or: Commercial purposes?	Yes	No	
	Rental purposes?	Yes	No	
If Yes, what percent is used for com	mercial or rental purposes	?%		

<u>I CERTIFY</u>: That the information I am supplying on and with this form is TRUE and CORRECT. That prior to January 1 of the year for which this exemption is sought I was a resident of the State of Alaska for the entire year and subsequently will own and occupy this property for a minimum of 185 days during each calendar year thereafter and when absent, the dwelling is not rented or leased to another. I authorize the Municipality of Anchorage to obtain information necessary to verify my eligibility. Falsely applying for an exemption or failing to notify the Municipal Assessors Office of a change in exemption status may result in payment of back taxes, penalties, and interest for prior years.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICA	ANT:		Date:	
	*** FOR OFFICE U	JSE *** DO NOT WRITE BELOW THI	S LINE ***	
Age or	VA Letter	Current PFD		
Approved	Denied	Entered by:		
			rev 3.15.22	

# Municipality of Anchorage Senior Citizen Exemption Information

## Timely Applications accepted through March 15th (907) 343-6770, Fax :( 907) 343-6599 www.muni.org/pa

- 1. Applicant must be 65 years of age on or before December 31<sup>st</sup> of the prior year for which the exemption is sought.
- 2. Applicant must have proof of age when filing for the first time. One of the following: A current Alaska driver license or Alaska State ID issued by DMV, birth certificate, naturalization papers, passport, baptismal certificate, military discharge papers (DD 214) or an age verification letter from the Social Security office is acceptable documentation. If spouse is also a senior, please have them sign the application and provide proof of age.
- **3.** Applicants that have any changes in ownership, in residency, permanent place of abode or other factor affecting qualification for the exemption must file each year by March 15<sup>th</sup>. If application is not received by March 15<sup>th</sup>, the assessor may accept a late filing if the applicant's failure to file a timely application was caused by a serious medical condition of the applicant, or a member of the applicant's immediate family. In addition to the application, the applicant shall also file a letter explaining the reason for the late filing.
- 4. The application must be filled out completely.
- 5. Applicant must own and occupy the property as their primary residence and permanent place of abode on January 1 of the assessment year for which the exemption is sought. Each subsequent year the property must be owned and occupied a minimum of 185 days per year as the primary residence and when absent, the dwelling is not leased or rented to another.
- **6.** The applicant may not own other property that is currently or will be receiving a homeowner, Residential, Senior Citizen or Disabled Veteran exemption.
- 7. Applicant must be a resident of Alaska for the entire year prior to the exemption year.
- 8. Widow/Widower: Upon attaining 60 years of age, the widow/widower, of a previous program participant, may obtain an exemption under the above requirements. Must provide copies of marriage and death certificates.
- **9.** If property is recorded into a trust and you are not the recorded trustee: We do not need a copy of the entire trust, but do require a copy of the following pages of the trust: First page of Trust, Page Designating you as the owner/trustee, Page that specifically identifies the property placed into trust, and the signature/date witness page.
- 10. Change notification: It is the responsibility of every person who obtains an exemption under this section to notify the assessor of any change in ownership, property use, residency, permanent place of abode or other factor affecting qualification for the exemption. Failure to notify may result in loss of exemption retroactively, payment of back taxes, penalties and interest for prior years.
- **11.** A qualified senior citizen or disabled veteran need not file an application for successive tax years if there is no change in ownership, in residency or permanent place of abode, status of disability, or other factor affecting qualification for the exemption.
- **12.** If we have any questions, you will receive a phone call and/or letter. Please review your tax bill for the exemption. The tax bill should reference "State Credit", if it does not; please contact our office immediately regarding the exemption.

AS 29.45.030 3 AAC 135.085 AMC 12.15.015

#### Other Senior Citizen Resource Agencies

Older Person's Action Group	Senior Center	Mabel T. Caverly Center	Aging & Disability Resource Ctr. DHHS
276-1059	770-2000	276-1496	343-7770

## \*\*\* FOR OFFICE USE \*\*\* DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE \*\*\*

Age	or	VA Letter	Current PFD
Approved		Denied	Entered by:
			rev 3 15 22